Press Releases
   
  HAD's new measures to support building management and maintenance (with photos)

The Home Affairs Department (HAD) will launch two new measures in April this year, namely the "AP Easy" Building Maintenance Advisory Service Scheme and the Building Management Professional Advisory Service Scheme (Phase II) to further provide owners' corporations (OCs) and owners of old buildings with free professional advice and support services to enhance building management and maintenance works on all fronts.

Speaking at today's press briefing, the Deputy Director of Home Affairs, Mr Jack Chan, said there are around 40 000 private buildings throughout the territory. Promoting proper and good building management has all along been the HAD's major task. The two schemes are respectively targeted at OCs preparing to carry out building maintenance works and owners of old buildings, in particular single blocks known as "three nil" buildings, i.e., those without OCs, residents' organisations or property management companies (PMCs).

"AP Easy" Building Maintenance Advisory Service Scheme ("AP Easy" Scheme)
-----------------------------------------------------

Building maintenance works involve professional knowledge and substantial costs. Some OCs, though willing to launch maintenance works to improve the living environment and safeguard the safety of tenants and the public, find it difficult to start the ball rolling, in particular on engaging consultants or authorised persons.

To tackle the issue, Mr Chan said, "The HAD is collaborating with the Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors, the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers and the Hong Kong Institute of Architects to launch the 'AP Easy' Scheme on a pilot basis for one year.

"Thirty-five expert teams comprising over 70 members from these three professional institutions will offer tailor-made and professional advice and support to participating OCs, including drafting tender and contract documents, and analysing the tenders for OCs to engage consultants to take forward maintenance works."

The scheme has three objectives:

(i) With the support of expert teams and having regard to the individual needs and circumstances of buildings or housing estates, assist OCs to develop clear tender documents and analyse them, understand the roles of OCs and consultants, and commission suitable consultants at a reasonable price. The aim is to minimise misunderstanding and disputes between OCs and consultants as well as owners as a result of unclear provisions.

(ii) Assist OCs to guard against consultants, maintenance contractors or any person from using improper means to affect the tendering and the progress of building maintenance works. In addition to the active support from the professional institutions, OCs will also be invited to participate in relevant seminars organised by the Hong Kong Police Force and the Independent Commission Against Corruption with a view to combating crimes by means of the three-pronged approach of support, enforcement and crime prevention publicity.

(iii) Encourage owners to actively participate in building maintenance works and attend owners' meetings to exercise their rights and duties properly.

The service recipients will be OCs of residential or composite buildings aged 20 years or above and without engaging PMCs; with annual average rateable value of the residential units not exceeding $300,000; and intending to carry out maintenance work.

The roll-out of the "AP Easy" Scheme will further enhance the HAD's assistance to owners in building management in a more comprehensive and structured manner. Over the past few years, the HAD has implemented a number of initiatives with a view to supporting owners to discharge their building management duties and fostering a culture of good building management. For example, the LEAD Programme aims to provide structural training for OCs' members; the Panel Advisors on Building Management Disputes endeavours to render neutral, authoritative and professional advice to the parties in dispute with a view to resolving conflicts; the Building Management Professional Advisory Service Scheme and the Resident Liaison Ambassadors Scheme foster the management of "three-nil" buildings; a subsidy scheme for OCs of old buildings is funded by the Community Care Fund; etc.

Building Management Professional Advisory Service Scheme (Phase II) (the Scheme)
-----------------------------------------------------

The HAD launched the Scheme in November 2011 and commissioned two PMCs on contract terms to provide free professional advice on building management and safety to 1 200 owners of old buildings in 18 districts in Hong Kong.

Mr Chan said, "To conclude the experiences in the past two years, the Scheme has achieved far more than expected. Since the launch of the Scheme, the appointed PMCs have conducted over 7 400 household visits, assisted owners in setting up 118 OCs (the target was 77) and assisted 28 OCs (the target was 22) to re-operate. The PMCs have also assisted 108 OCs (the target was 99) to apply for subsidies for maintenance, and 74 OCs/buildings (the target was 51) to appoint authorised persons or contractors to carry out maintenance works."

He further stressed that some owners of the targeted buildings who used to be unconcerned about property management have become very active with the help of the PMCs. They are willing to form OCs, apply for subsidies for maintenance and carry out maintenance works. Even though some of them have yet to form OCs, they are willing to carry out maintenance works of a smaller scale to improve the living environment.

Mr Chan added that the Scheme has been well received and a new round of the Scheme lasting for three years will be rolled out in April this year to provide free professional advisory services on building management and safety to a new batch of 1 200 owners of old buildings.

The Scheme targets residential or composite buildings aged 30 years or above, with common parts in disrepair or dilapidated condition and requiring maintenance or repair, and without OCs or with defunct management committees of the OCs. The annual average rateable value of the residential units in urban areas (including Sha Tin, Kwai Tsing and Tsuen Wan) or in the New Territories should not exceed $120,000 or $92,000 respectively.

The appointed PMCs will provide free professional advisory services which include:

  • conducting household visits, contacting owners direct and recruiting Resident Liaison Ambassadors (RLAs);
  • assisting in the formation of OCs, and providing professional advice and support to OC meetings;
  • preparing and producing building management audit reports on common parts;
  • assisting OCs in applying for various subsidies and loan schemes for maintenance works, and following up on the works and tendering matters, etc;
  • assisting OCs in the procurement of third party risk insurance; and
  • providing training on building management to office bearers of OCs, owners and RLAs.
Mr Chan called on interested and eligible OCs or property owners to submit applications on or before March 31. He also encouraged owners to play an active part in building management and maintenance works to tackle the problem of building neglect and enhance the living environment. The HAD will continue to provide the stakeholders with appropriate assistance through multi-pronged measures to help them further improve building management.

To learn more about building management support programmes, please visit the HAD's dedicated website on building management (www.buildingmgt.gov.hk) or obtain the guides and application forms from the HAD's Public Enquiry Service Centres.

Ends/Thursday, February 20, 2014
Issued at HKT 20:40

photo   photo

新 聞 稿
   
 

民政署新措施支援大廈管理及維修(附圖)

民政事務總署(民政署)將於今年四月推出兩項新措施 — 「『顧問易』大廈維修諮詢服務計劃」和「大廈管理專業顧問服務計劃」(第二期),進一步為業主立案法團(法團)及舊樓業主提供免費的專業意見及支援服務,全方位提升大廈管理及維修工作。

民政署副署長陳積志今日(二月二十日)在簡報會上表示,現時全港約有40 000幢私人樓宇。推廣妥善和良好的大廈管理,一直是民政署的重點工作。即將推出的兩項計劃,服務對象分別是準備進行大廈維修的法團以及舊樓,特別是單幢式的所謂「三無大廈」 — 即沒有法團、沒有任何居民組織及沒有聘用管理公司的大廈。

「『顧問易』大廈維修諮詢服務計劃」(顧問易計劃)

─────────────────────────

大廈維修工程,往往涉及許多專業知識和龐大的費用。有些法團雖然有意做好大廈維修工作,改善居住環境及保障大廈住客和公眾安全,但就如何開展工程,特別在聘請工程顧問或認可人士方面,經常遇到困難。

針對上述情況,陳積志表示︰「民政署與香港測量師學會、香港工程師學會及香港建築師學會三個專業學會合作,推行顧問易計劃。這是一項試驗計劃,為期一年。三個專業學會將會派出超過70名會員,組成35隊專家小組,義務為參與計劃的法團,就草擬招標及合約文件、分析標書等,提供個別、直接和專業的意見和支援,協助法團聘請工程顧問,開展大廈維修工程。」

這個計劃有三個目標﹕

(i)協助法團,針對大廈或屋苑的需要和實際情況,在專家小組的支援下,制定清晰的招標文件,掌握如何分析標書,了解法團和工程顧問所擔當的角色,協助他們以合理的價錢聘請合適工程顧問,以減少日後法團與工程顧問和業主之間,因條文不清引起的誤會和爭議。

(ii)協助法團防範工程顧問公司、維修承辦商或任何人士以不正當手段影響樓宇維修工程的招標和進行。除了專業學會的積極支援外,參與顧問易計劃的法團將會獲邀參加香港警務處以及廉政公署舉辦的有關講座,務求在支援、執法和宣傳三管齊下,防止不法之徒有機可乘。

(iii)鼓勵業主積極參與大廈維修工作,出席相關的業主大會,適當地行使業主的權利及履行責任。

計劃的服務對象主要是樓齡20年或以上、單位每年的平均應課差餉租值不高於30萬元、已成立法團但未有聘請物業管理公司,以及有計劃進行維修工程的住宅或綜合用途大廈。

隨這項試驗計劃的推出,民政署在大廈管理方面對業主的支援,將更為全面及更有系統。民政署近年推出了多項措施,旨在支援業主履行大廈管理的責任,推廣妥善管理文化,例如推出「大廈管理菁英領導研習課程」,為法團委員提供系統性的培訓;成立「大廈管理糾紛顧問小組」,為涉及大廈管理爭議的各方提供中肯、權威和專業的意見,協助平息紛爭;推行「大廈管理專業顧問服務計劃」及「居民聯絡大使」計劃,促進「三無大廈」的管理;推出關愛基金資助計劃,為舊樓法團提供津貼等。

「大廈管理專業顧問服務計劃(第二期)」(顧問服務計劃)

─────────────────────────

民政署在二○一一年十一月推出顧問服務計劃,以合約形式聘請兩間物業管理公司(物管公司),為全港18區的1 200幢舊樓單位的業主提供免費的樓宇管理及安全專業顧問服務。

陳積志說:「總結兩年多以來的經驗,這個計劃成效遠超預期。計劃推行至今,獲委聘的物管公司已進行超過7 400次家訪,並協助業主成立118個法團(指標是77個)及協助28個法團(指標是22個)重新運作。物管公司也分別協助了108個法團(指標是99個)申請維修資助和74個法團/大廈(指標是51個/幢)委聘認可人士或承辦商開展維修工程。」

他特別指出,在物管公司的協助下,部分目標大廈業主對大廈管理由漠不關心,變得積極投入。他們願意組織法團,申請維修資助及開展大廈維修工程;即使暫時未能成立法團,也願意進行較小型的維修工程,以改善大廈的居住環境。

由於計劃廣受歡迎,陳積志表示會在今年四月推出新一期顧問服務計劃,為期三年,為新一批1 200幢舊樓業主提供免費的樓宇管理及安全專業顧問服務。

計劃的服務對象主要是樓齡30年或以上、住宅單位每年的平均應課差餉租值不高於120,000元(市區,包括沙田、葵青及荃灣)/92,000元(新界)、大廈的公用地方失修或破損而需要進行保養及維修工程,以及沒有任何居民組織和管理(包括法團已停止運作)的住宅大廈或綜合用途大廈。

獲委聘的物管公司提供的免費專業顧問服務包括︰

  • 逐戶家訪,直接聯絡業主,招募居民聯絡大使;
  • 協助成立法團,及為法團會議提供專業意見及支援;
  • 籌備及撰寫大廈公用部分管理檢核報告;
  • 協助法團申請各項維修資助及貸款計劃,以及跟進維修工程、標書等;
  • 協助法團購買第三者風險保險;及
  • 為法團負責人、業主和居民聯絡大使提供大廈管理培訓。
陳積志呼籲有興趣而又符合資格的法團或業主,在三月三十一日或之前提出申請。他同時鼓勵業主積極參與大廈管理及維修工作,以解決樓宇失修問題,改善居住環境質素。民政署亦會繼續透過多角度、全方位的措施,為所有持份者提供適切的支援,協助他們進一步完善大廈管理的工作。

市民如欲了解各項大廈管理支援計劃,請瀏覽民政署的大廈管理專題網站(www.buildingmgt.gov.hk),或向各區民政事務處諮詢服務中心索取計劃簡介及申請表。

2014年2月20日(星期四)
香港時間20時40分

圖片   圖片