Press Releases
   
  Public consultation on review of Building Management Ordinance launched (with photos)

The Home Affairs Department (HAD) today (November 11) launched a public consultation exercise on the "Review of the Building Management Ordinance". The consultation period will last for 12 weeks until February 2, 2015.

The Building Management Ordinance (BMO) provides a legal framework for owners to organise themselves to discharge their building management responsibilities. To cope with the changing needs and circumstances of building management, the Government has established the Review Committee on Building Management Ordinance (the Review Committee) to conduct a comprehensive review of the BMO.

At today's press conference, the Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs, Mrs Betty Fung, said that taking into account the recommendations of the Review Committee, a consultation document setting out the legislative and administrative proposals which may help address the main building management concerns raised by the public in recent years was issued to kick-start the consultation exercise. The main concerns include disputes arising from large-scale maintenance projects, use of proxies at owners' corporation (OC) meetings, appointment and remuneration of deed of mutual covenant (DMC) managers, etc.

"With more aged buildings in Hong Kong that need to undergo major maintenance or renovation, there is an increasing number of disputes among owners relating to large-scale maintenance projects. To ensure that there has been thorough discussion and wide participation by owners before a decision on such projects is made, the consultation document invites members of the public to offer views on two possible options, namely, raising the quorum of the OC meeting from 10% to, say 20%, of the total number of owners, or raising the required percentage of shares of votes for the passage of the resolution from 50% to, say 75%, of the shares of votes at the meeting," Mrs Fung said.

For owners who are unable to attend OC meetings to cast their votes in person, the BMO allows them to appoint proxies. There are allegations about improper practices adopted by chairmen and secretaries of the management committees (MC) or the convenors of owners' meetings in the collection and verification of proxy instruments and the use of counterfeit proxy instruments. To address such concerns, the consultation document proposes a package of legislative and administrative measures to improve the arrangements.

The proposed measures include, for example, stating clearly in the notice of meeting as to the exact location of the proxy collection boxes and the timing for opening the boxes and counting the proxies, accepting only the original copy of the proxy instruments, and displaying the list of flats with proxy instruments lodged in a prominent place of the building at least 24 hours before the meeting.

Under the existing BMO, a resolution to appoint an MC and to form an OC shall be passed by a majority of votes at the meeting, and be supported by the owners of not less than 30% of shares in aggregate. Very often large housing estates where a large number of owners are involved or where the developer holds a large share of ownership have difficulty in gathering a sufficient percentage of shares in aggregate to form an OC. As such, the consultation document seeks public views on the suggestion of lowering the threshold for OC formation from 30% to 20% of shares in aggregate.

On the appointment of DMC managers, the consultation document seeks public views on the options of lowering the threshold for terminating the appointment of DMC managers from 50% to 30% of shares in aggregate, or limiting the term of appointment of DMC managers, say to five years.

On the remuneration of DMC managers, the consultation document invites public views on possible ways to reduce the remuneration rate of DMC managers of large-scale developments and to improve the transparency of calculating remuneration. These include, for example, reducing the ceiling on the remuneration rate of DMC managers by a specified percentage each year, or setting lower ceilings on the remuneration rates of DMC managers of large-scale developments.

"In addition to the review of the BMO, HAD has introduced a number of new measures in recent years to provide targeted assistance to owners, including the 'AP Easy' Building Maintenance Advisory Service Scheme, the Building Management Professional Advisory Service Scheme and the Panel of Advisors on Building Management Disputes. "We understand that many of the proposals put forward in this consultation document have significant implications on the management of private properties, their owners and the relevant industries. Members of the public, in particular property owners, are encouraged to offer comments and suggestions on the above and other issues during the public consultation period," Mrs Fung said.

The consultation document is available at the Public Enquiry Service Centres of District Offices, or at the HAD's Building Management Website (www.buildingmgt.gov.hk). Comments can be sent in writing to the HAD on or before February 2, 2015, by email (bm_consultation@had.gov.hk), mail (Division V, Home Affairs Department, 31/F, Southorn Centre, 130 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai) or facsimile (2575 1009).

Ends/Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Issued at HKT 19:26

photo   photo

新 聞 稿
   
 

《建築物管理條例》檢討公眾諮詢展開(附圖)

民政事務總署(民政署)今日(十一月十一日)展開「《建築物管理條例》檢討」的公眾諮詢。諮詢期為12星期,至二○一五年二月二日止。

《建築物管理條例》(《條例》)提供法律框架,讓業主合力履行管理大廈的責任。為配合在大廈管理方面不斷轉變的需要和情況,政府成立了《建築物管理條例》檢討委員會(檢討委員會),就《條例》進行全面檢討。

民政事務局常任秘書長馮程淑儀在今日的記者會上表示,考慮過檢討委員會的建議後,民政署發表公眾諮詢文件啟動諮詢工作。諮詢文件列述多項立法和行政措施建議,期望有助回應市民近年關注的主要事項,例如大型維修工程所引起的糾紛、在業主立案法團(法團)會議上委任代表文書的使用,以及公契經理人的委任和酬金等。

她說:「隨覑本港需要進行大型維修或翻新工程的舊樓有所增加,業主之間就大型維修工程而引起的糾紛亦有上升的趨勢。為鼓勵業主詳細討論和廣泛參與進行大型工程的決定,諮詢文件提出了兩個方案,包括把法團會議的法定人數佔業主總人數的百分比由10%提高至例如20%,或把通過決議所需的投票份數佔會議投票份數的百分比由50%提高至例如75%,並邀請公眾就這些方案提供意見。」

對於未能出席法團會議親自投票的業主,《條例》容許他們委任代表。對於有意見指某些管理委員會(管委會)的主席、秘書或業主會議召集人在收集和核實委任代表文書時做法不當及有人使用偽造的委任代表文書,諮詢文件建議採取一系列的立法和行政措施以改善有關安排。

建議措施包括在會議通知清楚列明委任代表文書收集箱的確實位置、開啟收集箱及點算委任代表文書的時間、只接受委任代表文書的正本,以及在會議舉行至少24小時前,在大廈顯眼處展示已送交委任代表文書的單位清單等。

根據現行《條例》,委出管委會和成立法團的決議,須在會議上以過半數票通過,以及獲總共擁有份數不少於30%的業主支持。牽涉大量業主的大型屋苑和發展商擁有大額業權份數的屋苑,在為成立法團而收集足夠百分比的份數時,往往遇到困難。就此,諮詢文件就成立法團的門檻由總共擁有份數的30%降至20%的建議,徵詢公眾意見。

就公契經理人的委任,諮詢文件就終止委任公契經理人所需的總共擁有份數門檻由50%降至30%,或為公契經理人的委任期設限(例如五年)這兩個方案,徵詢公眾意見。

至於公契經理人的酬金,諮詢文件就降低大型發展項目的公契經理人酬金比率,以及提升酬金計算的透明度的可行方案,徵詢公眾意見。這些方案包括每年按指明的百分比降低公契經理人酬金比率的上限,或為大型發展項目的公契經理人設定較低的酬金比率上限。

馮程淑儀說:「除檢討《條例》外,民政署近年亦推出多項新措施,針對業主的需要提供協助,包括『顧問易』大廈維修諮詢服務計劃、大廈管理專業顧問服務計劃及大廈管理糾紛顧問小組。」

她續說:「我們明白諮詢文件所提的建議,有部分會對私人物業的管理、擁有人和相關行業帶來顯著影響。因此我們鼓勵市民,尤其是業主,在公眾諮詢期內就上述和其他事宜提出意見和建議。」

諮詢文件可於各區民政事務處諮詢服務中心索取,或於民政署大廈管理網頁(www.buildingmgt.gov.hk)下載。市民可於二○一五年二月二日或之前,以電郵(bm_consultation@had.gov.hk)、郵遞(灣仔軒尼詩道130號修頓中心31樓民政事務總署第五科)或傳真(2575 1009)方式提出意見。

2014年11月11日(星期二)
香港時間19時25分

圖片   圖片