Press Releases
   
  New requirement to declare membership eligibility of management committees of owners' corporations

To facilitate the formation of management committees (MCs) of owners' corporations (OCs) and encourage more owners to participate in the management work in their buildings, the Administration has amended the relevant provisions of the Building Management Ordinance (Cap 344) (BMO) through the Statute Law (Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance 2014 to obviate the need for taking an oath with effect from January 5, 2015.

Under the existing provisions of the BMO, a member of the MC is required to take an oath before a Justice of the Peace, notary public, Commissioner for Oaths or other persons authorised to administer an oath within 21 days after the appointment to declare that he or she is not an ineligible person specified in Schedule 2 to the BMO and confirm his or her membership eligibility.

According to the amended Ordinance, the elected MC member of a newly formed OC and those elected by way of re-election or by-election shall only lodge a "Statement of Eligibility" stating that he or she does not fall within any of the categories of the ineligible persons specified in Schedule 2 to the BMO without a statutory declaration (commonly known as "an oath"). Any MC member who fails to lodge a statement within 21 days after the election shall cease to be such member.

In completing a statement, the elected MC member shall sign the statement in the form the Land Registrar may specify in the presence of a witness who shall also sign the statement to confirm that the signature of the member is genuine. A witness may be any person aged 18 or above including the MC member's family member, a neighbour or another MC member. The MC member may lodge the statement in or outside Hong Kong.

The MC Secretary shall submit the "Statement of Eligibility" to the Land Registry for filing within 28 days after the election of MC members of a newly formed OC or within 28 days upon receipt of the statement from members elected by re-election or by-election.

A spokesman for the Home Affairs Department stressed that, while a statement is not a statutory declaration, an MC member will still be held liable for providing false information in the statement.

Ends/Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Issued at HKT 14:30

新 聞 稿
   
 

有關聲明業主立案法團管理委員會委員資格的新規定

為利便大廈業主立案法團(法團)管理委員會(管委會)的成立和鼓勵更多業主參與管委會工作,當局已藉《2014年成文法(雜項規定)條例》,修訂《建築物管理條例》(第344章)(《條例》)的相關條文,免去法團管委會委員須在獲選後宣誓的規定,有關修訂將由二○一五年一月五日起生效。

根據《條例》的現行條文規定,管委會委員必須在獲選後21天內,在太平紳士、公證人、監誓員或其他獲授權監誓人士面前宣誓,聲明他並非《條例》附表2指明的不合資格人士,以確定其委員資格。

《條例》修訂後,不論是新成立法團的管委會委員、經改選或補選選出的管委會委員,只須在當選後的21天內向管委會秘書提交「申報資格陳述書」,說明其並非《條例》附表2指明的不合資格人士,而無須提交法定聲明(即宣誓)。如管委會委員在獲選後的21天內仍未能遞交陳述書,該人士即停任委員。

獲選的管委會委員在填寫陳述書時,必須以土地註冊處處長指明的格式,並在一名見證人面前簽署;見證人亦須在陳述書上簽署,以確認該委員的簽名真確。見證人可以是任何年滿18歲的人士,包括管委會委員的家人、鄰居或其他委員,該委員亦可在香港境內或境外作出有關申報。

管委會秘書須在新成立法團的管委會委員當選後的28天內,或在收到經改選或補選選出的管委會委員的陳述書後28天內,把陳述書送交土地註冊處存檔。

民政事務總署發言人強調,陳述書雖然不是法定聲明,但委員如在陳述書內提供虛假資料,仍須負上法律責任。

2014年12月17日(星期三)
香港時間14時30分