Press Releases
   
  HAD offers assistance to people affected by Tsuen Wan fire

Tsuen Wan District Office (TWDO) is offering assistance to people affected by the fire broke out at Yi Pei Square, Tsuen Wan this morning (February 5). The TWDO has opened the Lei Muk Shue Community Hall as a temporary shelter for those people in need with water, food, blankets and mattresses provided. As at 7.30pm, 15 affected persons have registered at the Lei Muk Shue Community Hall.

While the festive season is approaching, the Home Affairs Department (HAD) appeals to the members of the public to take appropriate fire prevention measures to safeguard their lives and properties.

A spokesman for the HAD said that the Government is highly concerned about fire prevention work. Before approaching of the dry seasons, HAD has already organised an inter-departmental working meeting with the District Fire Safety Committees of 18 districts, and mapped out a series of public education and promotion activities to effectively disseminate the message of fire prevention in the community. Apart from reminding owners and occupants of the buildings which are facing serious problems of subdivided flats and the "three nil" buildings (i.e. those without owners' corporations (OCs), residents' organisations or property management companies (PMCs)) to work on fire prevention, HAD has stepped up publicity efforts with special focus on enhancing the fire safety awareness of the elderly, domestic helpers as well as ethnic minorities.

"In 2014-15, some 210 large-scale fire prevention promotion and education activities have been held in the 18 districts, including carnivals, fire drills, fire prevention seminars, parades and exhibitions."

He supplements that through their district networks, the District Offices have sent letters to more than 13 000 residents' organisations (including OCs, mutual aid committees and owners’ committees) and more than 1 600 Resident Liaison Ambassadors (RLAs) living in the "three nil" buildings to enhance their awareness on fire prevention and remind them to ensure the effective operations of fire service equipment and the fire safety of their buildings. The Office of the Licensing Authority (OLA) under the HAD has also sent letters to the persons-in-charge of licensed hotels, guesthouses, clubs and bedspace apartments in the territory to appeal them to enhance the fire prevention work. OLA officers also check the fire safety equipment of these licensed premises and ensure all fire escapes are free from obstruction during routine inspections.

In addition, HAD has significantly enhanced efforts to provide support to old buildings such as introducing the Building Management Professional Advisory Service Scheme (BMPASS). Professional PMCs are commissioned to provide tailor-made and one-stop professional advisory services and support to "three-nil" buildings. These services include preparing and producing management audit reports on common areas and equipment (including fire services installations and fire escapes) of the buildings, assisting the owners in the formation of OCs and applying for various subsidies or loan schemes for maintenance works, following up on the works and tendering matters. The first phase of BMPASS was completed in March, 2014, benefitting 1 200 buildings. Currently, HAD is implementing the second phase to provide assistance to another new batch of 1 200 "three-nil" buildings.

Noting that old buildings face great difficulties in forming OCs and management as the majority of owners are not living in the buildings concerned, the HAD has launched the RLA Scheme and successfully recruited over 1 600 residents from some 780 "three-nil" buildings to serve as RLAs. The RLAs will contact other residents living in the same building and engage them in matters relating to daily building management, security, fire safety and so on. Not only can RLAs help improve the management of these buildings effectively, but they can also refer the safety hazards of the buildings to relevant government departments quickly for immediate follow-up actions.

Meanwhile, the HAD has implemented the Subsidy for Owners' Corporations of Old Buildings programme, funded by the Community Care Fund, to provide eligible owners of old buildings with a maximum subsidy of $20 000 for three years. The OCs can make use of the subsidy to clear fire escapes and conduct regular inspections of fire preventions and electrical and mechanical equipment, etc.. So far, more than 1 840 applications amounted to $8 million have been approved.

Ends/Thursday, February 5, 2015
Issued at HKT 20:47

新 聞 稿
   
 

民政處協助荃灣火警中受影響人士

荃灣民政事務處(民政處)正協助今日(二月五日)早上在荃灣二陂坊火警中受影響的人士,包括開放梨木樹社區會堂供有需要人士暫住,以及向他們提供水、乾糧、毛氈及墊褥。截至晚上七時三十分,共有十五人在梨木樹社區會堂登記。

佳節臨近,民政事務總署(民政署)呼籲市民繼續做好適當防火措施,以保障生命財產安全。

民政署發言人表示,防火是特區政府非常關注的工作。在踏入風高物燥的冬季前,民政署已聯同18區的地區防火委員會,與相關部門舉行跨部門工作會議,策劃一 系列公眾教育和宣傳活動,全方位在社區宣揚防火信息,除了特別提醒「劏房」問題嚴重的樓宇,及「三無大廈」(即沒有成立業主立案法團(法團),沒有業主/ 居民組織及沒有聘請物業管理公司)的業主或住客做好防火工作外,並重點針對長者、外籍家庭傭工及少數族裔人士,加強宣傳,提高他們的消防安全意識。

在二○一四/一五年度,全港18區共籌辦約210項大型防火宣傳教育活動,包括嘉年華、火警演習、防火講座、巡遊及展覽等。

各區民政事務處也透過其地區網絡,去信13 000多個居民組織(包括法團、互助委員會和業主委員會等)及1 600多位居於「三無大廈」的居民聯絡大使,加強他們的防火意識,以及提醒他們注意大廈防火安全,確保消防設備有效運作。民政署轄下的牌照事務處,亦已去 信全港的持牌旅館、酒店、會社、床位寓所等負責人,呼籲他們加強防火工作。牌照處人員亦會在日常的例行巡查中,檢查持牌處所的消防安全設備和走火通道是否 保持暢通。

此外,民政署亦已大力加強對舊樓的支援,例如推出「大廈管理專業顧問服務計劃」,聘請專業物業管理公司為「三無大廈」,提供一站式貼身專業顧問服務和支 援,為大廈撰寫公用地方及設備(包括防火和走火設備)管理檢核報告,協助業主組織法團和申請維修資助或貸款,並跟進工程和招標事宜。計劃第一期已於二○一 四年三月完成,共有1 200座大廈受惠。目前,民政署正推行計劃的第二期,為另外1 200座「三無大廈」提供支援。

針對因舊樓大部分業主並非居於大廈內以致難以成立法團和妥善管理大廈的問題,民政署的「居民聯絡大使」計劃成功招募了780多座「三無大廈」共1 600多名聯絡大使,聯絡居住在同一大廈的住戶,共商大廈管理事務、保安及消防安全等事宜。計劃不但有效改善大廈的管理,亦可及時向有關政府部門反映大廈 的安全問題,以便即時跟進處理。

同時,民政署已透過關愛基金撥款成立「舊樓業主立案法團津貼計劃」,為合資格的舊樓業主提供三年內上限為20 000元的資助,協助他們清理走火通道、進行定期的防火和機電設備檢查等。至今已批出超過1 840個申請,涉及款額800萬元。

2015年2月5日(星期四)
香港時間20時14分