Press Releases
   
  HAD launches Free Mediation Service Pilot Scheme for Building Management (with photos)

The Home Affairs Department (HAD) today (February 25) signed a co-operation agreement with the Hong Kong Mediation Centre (the Centre) and the Hong Kong Mediation Council (the Council) to launch the Free Mediation Service Pilot Scheme for Building Management (Scheme) to help owners and owners' corporations (OCs) resolve disputes. A total of 132 Resident Liaison Ambassadors (RLAs) and graduates of the Advanced LEAD Programme were also commended.

Speaking at the signing ceremony, the Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs, Mrs Betty Fung, said building management covers various expertise and works. The owners, OCs and property management companies may have different views on day-to-day management and maintenance work. Insufficient communication may lead to dispute, influence on the operation of estates or OCs, or even litigation.

Mrs Fung added, "To help resolve disputes, the Government proposed in the Building Management Ordinance consultation document published last November that the HAD would work with the relevant professional bodies on the introduction of mediation services on building management matters. I am glad that our proposal has received staunch support from the professional bodies concerned. A two-year free mediation service pilot scheme will be launched in March. We will arrange volunteer mediators to provide free professional mediation services, with a view to resolving the disputes effectively for the owner and OCs and attaining a win-win solution."

A total of 150 accredited and professional mediators from the Centre and the Council will participate in the Scheme. A team of mediators will separately meet each party concerned to explain the details of the Scheme and the basic principles, concept and procedures of mediation. The team will also analyse the case and advise individual parties how best mediation can settle their disputes, and encourage them to resolve their disputes by way of mediation.

If all parties concerned agree to have mediation, the HAD will appoint another team of mediators to have a preparatory meeting with them to understand the case and their needs. During the formal mediation session, the mediators will invite both parties to present their case respectively, assist them in clarifying, discussing and understanding the core of their disputes, and seek a mutually agreeable solution so as to reach a settlement.

To enhance participants' knowledge of mediation services and the Scheme, the HAD has organised a mediation workshop to introduce the general procedures of the Scheme and look at real cases.

OCs and owners who are interested in the Scheme may contact the District Building Management Liaison Team of respective District Office for details.

After the signing ceremony, Mrs Fung presented certificates to RLAs and graduates of the third Advanced LEAD Programme. She commended the RLAs for their dedication to building management, saying that not only had they acted as a bridge of communication between the Government and the residents, they had also assisted the buildings in forming OCs and had become management committee (MC) members themselves. She also praised the graduates for their passion in learning, encouraging them to continue to put into practice the knowledge acquired in building management and promote good building management to more property owners.

Launched in November 2011 by the HAD, the RLA Scheme aims at recruiting owners or tenants who live in buildings 30 years old or above and without any form of management to be RLAs. RLAs assist in establishing a resident network, handling daily building management matters, enhancing residents' knowledge and interest in building management and facilitating the formation of OCs. At present, 1 665 RLAs have been recruited to help form OCs in 109 old buildings.

The MC members of the OCs that have graduated from the LEAD Programme are entitled to continue with the Advanced LEAD Programme with a view to deepening their knowledge of building management. This enables them to take up the duty of community tutors more effectively in promoting good building management in the future.

Ends/Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Issued at HKT 19:55

photo     photo     photo

新 聞 稿
   
 

民政署推出「大廈管理義務專業調解服務試驗計劃」(附圖)

民政事務總署(民政署)今日(二月二十五日)與香港和解中心和香港調解會簽訂合作協議,推出「大廈管理義務專業調解服務試驗計劃」(試驗計劃),協助業主及業主立案法團(法團)解決爭議。民政署同時表揚132位「居民聯絡大使」及菁英領導進階班畢業學員。

民政事務局常任秘書長馮程淑儀在簽訂合作協議儀式上表示,大廈管理涵蓋多個專業範疇,涉及各種各樣的工作。即使是日常大廈管理和維修工作,業主、法團和物業管理公司往往有不同意見,若欠缺妥善溝通協調,很容易出現爭拗,影響屋苑或法團運作,甚或引致法律訴訟。

她說:「為協助解決紛爭,政府在去年十一月發表的《建築物管理條例》諮詢文件中提到,民政署會聯同相關專業團體推廣大廈管理調解服務。我很高興有關建議得到相關專業團體大力支持,並將於三月推出為期兩年的義務專業調解服務試驗計劃。我們會安排義務調解員提供免費專業服務,期望能有效地為業主和法團解決爭議,達致互利雙贏。」

香港和解中心和香港調解會共派出150名認可的專業調解員參與是項計劃。一組調解員會先與各方當事人分別會面,講解服務計劃的內容、調解的基本原則、概念及步驟,並會針對性地為爭議雙方分析調解如何能有效協助解決爭議,鼓勵雙方以調解方式解決紛爭。

若各方均同意進行調解,民政署會委任另一組調解員與各方當事人進行預備會議以了解個案及各方的需要。在正式調解會議中,調解員會邀請雙方就其個案作出陳述,並協助雙方釐清、討論和了解爭議的焦點,以及尋求共同接受的解決方案,從而達成和解協議。

為加深出席者對調解服務及試驗計劃的認識,民政署同時舉辦了調解服務工作坊,介紹試驗計劃的一般程序及分享真實個案。

有意透過試驗計劃以解決爭議的法團和業主,可與各區民政事務處的地區大廈管理聯絡小組聯絡。

在簽訂合作協議儀式後,馮程淑儀頒授證書嘉許「居民聯絡大使」及菁英領導進階班第三屆畢業學員。她讚揚「居民聯絡大使」為大廈管理勞心勞力,不但充當橋樑聯繫居民和政府部門,亦積極推動大廈成立法團,並擔任法團管理委員會委員。她亦表揚畢業學員好學不倦,並鼓勵他們繼續善用所學知識,促進大廈管理,同時把良好大廈管理的理念推廣給更多業主。

民政署在二○一一年十一月推出「居民聯絡大使」計劃,目的是招募居住在樓齡三十年或以上而沒有任何管理組織的大廈的業主或租客,成為「居民聯絡大使」,以建立居民聯絡網絡,處理日常樓宇管理事宜,以及提升居民對樓宇管理的認識及興趣,協助這些大廈組織法團。計劃推出至今已招募1 665位大使協助109幢舊樓組織法團。

至於法團管理委員會的委員完成菁英領導研習班後,可繼續進修菁英領導進階班,深化大廈管理知識,以便日後更有效地履行其民間導師的使命,推廣良好大廈管理的理念。

2015年2月25日(星期三)
香港時間19時55分

圖片     圖片     圖片